Bits & Bites

We will be traveling for holiday joy with family. Well, at least one side of the family (mine) is joyful during this season. A side trip to Sanibel Island for a few days won’t make up for the missed vacation in Hawaii but should provide enough beach time for the family excitement ahead.

The critters and house always get tremendous care from our wonderful pet-sitting company, Nunn Better. Seneca does an amazing job with her staff, and our “Pack” usually has their favorite gal, Aubrey, to spoil them rotten when we travel. Of course we would rather they romp on the beach with us and visit their puppy cousins. I do worry about them. Ha! They are too busy enjoying respite from us and happy to avoid kennel-care.

Betsy & Scruffy

PeeTee & Lucy

After a reaaallllly long weight-loss plateau, I have dropped a few pounds. I continue to be fascinated how my body shape changes even without losing much weight. Don’t say I am toning up because my physical activity still is not up to pre-mastectomy level, but at least I’m moving again without discomfort. Although my goal seems to be only 14-pounds away, I think maintenance for me will hit when I can fit into the pair of really tight size 10 pants hanging. Who knows? Who cares. I’m pretty much eating what I plan to eat for life except there will be no hesitancy for treats in the future. This time of year. with my seasonal affective disorder flaring and the associated carb urge, it is a bit dangerous to venture away from my mantra: no grains, starch, added sugar.

My favorite/only plastic surgeon insisted on a huge hug rather than a handshake at the start of our visit this week. “What, after all we’ve been through you just want to shake my hand?” So, I pressed my artificial boobs into his chest and then flash him. “Are you satisfied with this?” I ask. He tells me I look great for just a little over 2 months since my tissue expanders were replaced with silicone. Scars are healing well. Skin flab might be removed after weight loss is done, depends on if I want more scars. We discuss how one foob hangs lower. Most women’s breasts are not even. I just never noticed because mine were hanging at my waist. He did not use any tissue matrix (we agreed) to reinforce the lower poles of the “pockets” holding my implants. So, I do have to watch and see if that one foob drops any lower. My symmastia (uniboob) has not recurred but I’m still at high risk for up to 2 years. In other words, I am like many women who undergo breast reconstruction after breast cancer – over 25% will require additional surgery after “permanent” implants are placed. I ain’t planning on it, but I am aware. The next step is to get nipple tattoos. (Just in case you were dying to know.) No nipple reconstruction. I don’t want “headlights” all the time, and the Barbie look is kinda weird. We are planning a trip to Baltimore in the spring to have mine done by a tattoo artist who works with academic reconstruction centers across the country. Always wanted a tattoo. Just thought it might be a green sea turtle…

Leaving you with a link to a fun read from the New York Times: Holiday Gifts From Your Kitchen Even non-chefs like make me can make healthy, lemon olive oil and dress it up in a pretty container.

Be reading you on the interwebs!

10 thoughts on “Bits & Bites

  1. Ahem. There *was* another pet-sitting option, you know. 0:)

    Thank you a million times for the lemon olive oil link! I need a gift for a gluten-free, grain-free, sugar-free, minimalist, eco-terrorist friend and something like this might be just the ticket!

    I was on Sanibel earlier this year, and it’s very lovely. Definitely would rather be there right now than here!

  2. You could STILL have a green sea turtle there, instead of a nipple. I won’t tell… Sanibel is a really neat place – my sister owns a home there. Hope you have a WONDERFUL vacation – you sure deserve it!

  3. Happy Holidays and safe travels Jan. So I learned something new here today, I didn’t know about nipple tattos. That is so awesome and a much better look than barbie boos for sure!

    Thanks for the link to healthy homemade gifts – you know how much I love new recipes.

    We have been to Sanibel Island and had a great time. Enjoy your time away.

  4. Have a lovely trip! Well done on the maintenance mode, those size 10 pants fitting perfectly are so going to be yours, all yours ;)

    Thanks for the comment on my blog last week – I get what you said about the all or nothing, my dad was like that, and I totally agree that sometimes that is the only way.

    That green Sea turtle tattoo sounds like fun :)

  5. I just found your blog by way of Karen at waistingtime. Love the weight loss pictures. I’m in Tucson too but that may only last another month. We’ll see how that goes. Looking forward to reading your blog. :)

  6. Hi I haven’t been keeping up with weight loss blogs in a long time but am starting to make the rounds again.

    Glad to hear you sounding so sane about your body and your goals. I particularly liked this “I’m pretty much eating what I plan to eat for life except there will be no hesitancy for treats in the future.” it sounds very much like my plan, my goal is a size, not a number, and I also realize that I’m willing to get to eat a certain way, for life, and if that means I end up at a higher weight/size than I have in mind right now, then so be it, I’m not going to set myself up for a life of constant diet vigilance and stress to hit a certain size/number.

Comments are closed.