5k Run/Walk Commitment

From college athlete to 300-pound, inert, aging, cerebral, arthritic- talk about loss of identity!

As I near my first 50-pounds of weight loss, I have decided at this relatively older age of 55 to reclaim my athletic inclination – although love of sports has never left me. Perusing the 3FC forums, I found a website for a 7-month prep to run a 5k called The Conservative Couch to 5K (3mile) Program. Seven months from now, August will have daily temps easily above 100°. Thus, I have chosen a local 5k run in October when the weather will be perfect. My joints might only allow a run/walk, but this gives my competitive nature something to shoot for beyond beating my targets at various Wii Fit Plus activities.

There, it’s in writing. I’m committed and have a plan in place. Now to find those running shoes that fit or go get fitted at a local running shoe store recommended to me.

Get Moving Tucson

woman walking

2 thoughts on “5k Run/Walk Commitment

  1. Good for you! I’ll be watching your progress. I am sooo not a runner and I always admire people who can set those kinds of goals and work towards them.

Comments are closed.