Easter’s On Its Way ♪♫

Ah spring! The smell of fresh air, blooming flowers, and Cadbury eggs.

Religion aside, for most of us with weight problems, Easter is another potential stumbling block as we (OK, as I) continue the quest to eat healthy. Chocolate lurches out of every grocery store aisle. Childhood memories of goodie-filled Easter baskets start taunting our adult selves. Even dying eggs (yes, I like to dye eggs) becomes associated with oval-shaped candy. I don’t eat chocolate any more, but Easter…

We have plans for a family dinner with my in-laws, and they will be staying over the weekend. Although my “dear” MIL has repeatedly been asked not to bring candy into our home, she no doubt will show up with chocolate bunnies or jelly beans or something worse. My spouse and I have agreed to trash everything they bring in – behind their backs of course. On the other hand, the Easter feast is something I am looking forward to. We chose an amazing restaurant with a beautiful view of the city, an award-winning chef, and southwestern food that is so delicious a few bites of each course will satisfy me. I have scoured the menu and am starting to plan now.

If you celebrate Easter in any way, how are you planning for this occasion food-wise?

chocolate easter bunnies
From the best known secular Easter song “Peter Cottontail”

Here comes Peter Cottontail,
Hopping’ down the bunny trail,
Look at him stop, and listen to him say:
“Try to do the things you should.”
Maybe if you’re extra good,
He’ll roll lots of Easter eggs your way.

You’ll wake up on Easter morning
And you’ll know that he was there
When you find those chocolate bunnies
That he’s hiding everywhere.

W4VHEMH3HJSA

