Candy Is Disgusting – Who Knew?

I caved; I freely admit it. After almost one week of exposure to sweets galore, I finally gave in and allowed myself to eat some chocolate (and not the dark 73% cacao type). This turned out to be a sickening experience. The sugar rush was horrid. The taste was overwhelmingly sweet. My pancreas went into overdrive, and I wanted nothing more to do with candy – I hope.

Unlike quitting cigarettes more than 30 years ago and finding that my nicotine receptors were easily stimulated by smells, activities, and certain people, my ultra-sweet receptors(?) seem to be highly offended by exposure to these substances. BUT, I’m afraid that I could quickly become immune to my nauseating response and relapse to eating sweets of all types. I certainly still struggle with starches and keep them out of reach. The slippery slope to eating very high glycemic index substances might be close by…

Until I return home, my solutions are to fall back on the 5 D’s –move my mother’s stash of sweets into her bedroom (distance); distract myself with any number of tasks that need to be tackled in their house; drink, drink, drink water (or iced tea since this is Texas); take calming deep breaths; destroy any sweets I grab for, or at least get them out of my reach.

When will my problems with stimulus control go away?

3 thoughts on “Candy Is Disgusting – Who Knew?

  1. I gave you a blog award today:)

    I love your Ds. Clever concept. I have had some very unhealthy chocolate lately and it did not hit me that way. But I am right there with you with the starches! Slippery slope… argh. I have cut out bread and crackers AGAIN. If I don’t eat them, I eventually don’t crave them or even miss them. Amazing how that works for me.

    • Gosh-thanks for the blog award! Soon as I can figure out how to incorporate a graphic using my iPad, I will expess my gratitude in post.

  2. I tried low carb last spring after reading Good Calories, Bad Calories. Until then I thought it was just a weird gimmick, a ploy to keep yourself from eating too many calories by cutting out whole food groups.

    I was astonished at how I felt after about a week. Hunger just disappeared unless it was several hours after a meal. Cutting out all grains and sugars (and most fruit) was much easier than I expected, in particular after I realized the hunger element & noticed that I felt great. It took some time to find good indulgences so I didn’t feel deprived.

    I’m a hard-core dark chocolate girl & moved to 85% cocoa (Lindt makes one) and then even to 99% and sometimes 100% cocoa bars. Those are admittedly an acquired taste, but the 85% is pretty easy to get used to if you’re already a dark chocolate eater. I also make a quick dessert where I mix cocoa powder into mascarpone cheese (which is basically 100% butterfat). I also do it with vanilla powder and cinnamon.

    I’ve been really surprised how easy I’ve found controlled-carb eating to be. Restaurants are easy, eating gourmet meals is easy, & living with my foodie husband here in France daily living is much easier (and more enjoyable) eating this way than any other diet to lose that I’ve tried.

Comments are closed.