Blog Love (Blush)

I received 2 awards, 1 of which I found buried in a comment back from April – I am soooo embarrassed!

This process is new to me, so bear with me if I screw it up. In chronological order, first came the delightful (and hidden) Sunshine Award from Angie’s Healthy Living Blog

Sunshine Blog Award

The rules…
Nominate 12 blogs;
Put the award logo on your sidebar or within a post;
Link the nominees within your post;
Let the nominees know they’ve received this award by commenting on their blog;
Share the love and link the sidebar logo to the person from whom you’ve received this award.

Most of the blogs that I read have already received this award (I’m such a newb), but I will mention blogs that I admire for bringing sunshine into my daily reading and attempt to identify which bloggers have received the award previously and which ones have not (although they probably all have):

  1. Karen at Waisting Time who of course was probably one of the first holders of this “bloggy”. She is my role model for blogging about life style changes regarding healthy behaviors and is my second daily read after the NYTimes.
  2. Cammy at The Tippy Toe Diet, who undoubtedly has been awarded this flower numerous times, but her blog is such a must-read, that I’m giving it to her again. (Newbie me). Her tips, story, insights, writing – all keep me coming back for more.
  3. Loretta at Loretta’s Journey has an amazing story, is always inspiring, and I cannot believe that she has not received this blog award! (I probably have missed it somewhere.)
  4. Gracie at Fat to Fabulous has a blog that I have been reading since my journey began in September, 2009. I found her blog on 3FatChicks, and her story  keeps me pushing ahead.
  5. Sarah at Round is an American in France and knows much about weight loss. She shares her knowledge and motivation in a wonderful style.
  6. Shelley of My Journey to Fit is younger than me (hey, who isn’t?) and has lost 100+ pounds, is a Texan, and is a great read for lifestyle changes.
  7. Lyn of Escape from Obesity provides great recipes along with the story of her ongoing journey.
  8. debby weighs in, ah someone my age who has lost 100 pounds, loves dogs, is in the medical field, and is a wonderful blogger.
  9. Lynn’s Weigh is the God Mother of maintainers’ blogs – you just have to check it out to read about her 168 pound weight loss and years of maintenance and subsequent helpful posts. Go… now. She has been featured nationally, and this award probably is beneath her, but it’s the only way that I have to let her know (besides comments) how grateful I am that she keeps posting.
  10. The Redhead Riter is different from all of the other blogs that I routinely read (excluding the social-political ones) in that is more family focused (can’t bear to call it a mommy blog) and less about health. BUT, I still find her writing, pics, and BlogFrog community interesting. She, of course, received this award eons ago.

Sorry but I’m out of non-professional, life-style, non-monetized blogs that I routinely read.

Beautiful Blogger Award

Now for the Beautiful Blogger Award from Karen at Waisting Time – see I just had to get back home so that I could post images again. (Still mastering my iPad.) This recognition requires that I reveal 7 things readers do not know about me yet and pass it on to 7 bloggers. Here goes.

  1. I have become a daily coffee drinker since embarking on my healthy eating.
  2. I love to visit new places (the more exotic, the better) but hate traveling to get there.
  3. My favorite place on earth is the Kona side of the Big Island of Hawaii.
  4. I strongly support universal health care. (Hey, if it’s good enough for our Congressmen for life…)
  5. I despise the state of Oklahoma even though I cherish my ancestry as a bona fide Cherokee from Oklahoma.
  6. Listening to music is sometimes as good as sex.
  7. I have a list of every patient who died under my care so that I will not forget them.

My list of Beautiful Bloggers who have not received this award includes those from above who have not received this award, and I will be letting them know in separate comments or e-mails.

Thanks again to Karen and Angie for these awards and forcing me to recognize my appreciation of other blogs. We spend too little time expressing our gratitude.

Jan

4 thoughts on “Blog Love (Blush)

  1. Thank you:) And I enjoyed learning some new things about you. And I will share that I have a new and different perspective about health care reform as someone who insurance companies reject for coverage time and time again. Luckily I live in a state with a “high risk pool.” Sigh.

  2. Why thank you! I appreciate you thinking of me.
    And I got a tickle out of your #5… my Cherokee ancestors are from Oklahoma, too, on my Dad’s side of the family. Wouldn’t it be a hoot if you had my Granny White in your lineage.

    Loretta
    =^..^=

  3. Thanks for the nomination! I’ll probably post on it sometime next week, okay?

    I love your list of 7 – I drink more coffee when dieting too, but am most touched by #7 – remembering the patients you lost. I don’t know what kind of doctor you are (except probably a good one), but that kind of commitment to patient care is sadly not that frequent…

Comments are closed.