I Had A Dream…

Does anyone else have food dreams when dieting? (We are talking about dieting here, not the overall focus on becoming healthy.) On past food restriction efforts, I would have dreams about food early in the process. Not taunting dreams – just food would be omnipresent. I would awaken feeling deprived and frustrated and acutely aware of my caloric deficit.

This time, since embarking on my health plan last September, I have not dreamed dreamt (happy 10th grade anglophile English teacher?) about food. Last night, however, I had the strangest dream about  life style changes. To put this in context, the past 3 weeks have been difficult for me:  being out-of-town, being around my family of origin, understanding more about my “unhealthy-ness” (OK, let’s call it what is, lack of self-care), slacking on monitoring and physical activity, starting to want to overeat, a bit of discouragement setting in. In last night’s dream — you know I have decided not to bother readers with details and my analysis (actually I did write it out, but there was too much psychobabble – emphasis on psycho – makes for truly boring reading). I’ll just reveal that instead of dreaming about food, I dreamed about my problems with changing my behavior and difficulties staying on track.

By writing out the details and realizing all the characters in the dream were parts of myself, I got a wake-up call (from a dream ;)) about how to get back on track. Seems like my psyche knows better than I do what would help. Wait, my psyche is me – so YAY for me. Now I feel more encouraged and capable of continuing  the long process of maintaining all of the mechanisms that work for me to lose weight and be more physically active.

One of these days I will write a post about why certain types of writing are, indeed, healthy – with evidence. Promise.

patient on therapist's couch

4 thoughts on “I Had A Dream…

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving such a thoughtful comment.

    I am very intrigued by dreams and would have liked to have heard more. I wasn’t a psych major in college but most of my electives were psychology classes. It’s a fascinating subject, isn’t it?

  2. So I have “bad” dreams almost every night. Arduous dreams. Dreams in which I am trying to do something and can’t. Can’t find the place I need to be; can’t see the numbers to dial the phone. It makes me wonder what I am thinking about my life and what I can’t do! Funny enough, I am not dreaming about food. But when I ate really poorly, I did sometimes have overeating dreams. Or not having any clothes that fit dreams. No surprises there.

  3. I very rarely remember my dreams so I can’t tell you what I dream about.

    I’m VERY impressed with your analysis of your dream & figuring out that it was all parts of you & finding a solution. I’ve been in analysis a few times & never got to that point, wow!

  4. I dream of food…a lot…but the worst dreams for me in this weightloss/health journey are the ones where I am strapped to the eliptical and it won’t stop going and I feel like my legs are going to fall off and I am in excrutiating pain but Jillian Michaels is screaming at me that I’m a fat loser and have to keep it up.

    I honestly have that dream at least once a month.

Comments are closed.