Chilly (Chili) Weather!

I am no cook, but dang if I ain’t a Texan, which means any time the temp drops below 60° thoughts turn to chili… Now there are zillions of ways to cook chili. The only requisite seems to be putting something in a pot and adding chili and cumin seasonings. The remainder of the ingredients are up to the individual chef. Being from Texas (well, mostly), I should never add beans, but my own native-born Texas-belle Mom always put beans in her chili and so do I. (Insert flatulence jokes here.)  I really can’t give the family recipe because it varies depending on what is in the pantry and what amount of heat and protein folks prefer. Here was last night’s version:

Ingredients:

1 pound ground turkey

2 links Italian sweet pork sausage removed from casing

1 sweet onion diced

1 green pepper diced

2 cups celery chopped

3 diced cloves of garlic

2 28-oz cans diced tomatoes

1 28-0z can whole peeled tomatoes

2 small cans green chiles – substitute hotter peppers as desired

3 cans of beans drained and rinsed – pinto, black, kidney were available last night

handful of fresh cilantro leaves chopped (adjust to taste)

Ground cumin

Red chili seasoning

Package of chili seasoning mix (mild or hot – your call)

Directions:

Brown meat in a skillet.

In a large pot, saute onions, green pepper, celery, and garlic in EVOO (or your version of oil). Add tomatoes, chili and cumin to taste (start with about 2 T of each then go from there). Add in meat, beans, seasoning mix, and cilantro. Partially cover and simmer for at least 3 hours. Tastes much better the next day. My sister always adds grated cheese and sour cream, but I forgo these delights so I can eat more chili! Cornbread is yummy with this (sigh).

To make this vegetarian – just forget the meat and go with more and different types of veggies.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Chilly (Chili) Weather!

  1. I love chili too! With beans. And ground beef. When I make it I have to add the beans in at the last minute after I take some out without for my teen. Sigh.

  2. My grandmother was a champion chili maker, really, she won awards for her chili! I think the only disappointment she ever had in me was that I never learned to like chili…but she would make huge pots of it and my friends would come over after our high school football games and she would serve up her chili and have a grand time collecting all the compliments.

    Thanks for bringing back that memory!

Comments are closed.