Be Careful What You Wish For

Two days ago after my mammogram, I was lamenting the saggy state of my still rather large breasts and contemplating whether to get them lopped off -OK, OK, surgically reduced and lifted – at the end of my weight loss.

Today I am numb as the results of the mammography reveal very suspicious micocalcifications in both breasts. How suspicious one might ask? The scoring system known as BI-RADS has both areas at 4 on a scale of 0 to 6 where: 0- incomplete, 1- negative, 2-benign findings, 3-probably benign, 4-suspicious abnormality, 5-highly suspicious of malignancy, 6-known biopsy with proven malignancy. To put this in to a better perspective, a BI-RADS of 5 means the chance a woman with that score actually has some type of breast cancer is about 95%. (For those interested, this likelihood is called the positive predictive value or PPV.) The PPV for a score of 4 is only 20-40%, but that is a heck of a lot higher risk than I had 2 days ago. Disturbingly I find there are sub categories, 4a 4b 4c with much greater risk in 4c, as high 79%. My radiologist didn’t breakdown the subcategory – just as well. It is what is.

I am scheduled for bilateral breast biopsies Monday. My wonderful PT and massage for an ailing neck are out the window for the following week then we will deal with the results.

I draw strength from all the physical trials my Mother went through the last 10 years of her life, smiling the entire time. How bad can this be? Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. All right. I know this is freaky. I’d be freaked out also. But, stay calm and remember we would re-assure our patients that mammograms are not perfect and that’s why we do biopsies. So, you’re right to drawn strength where you can. I’ll be thinking of you, sending good thoughts and fingers crossed.

  2. My thoughts are definitely with you in this time full of so many emotions — fear when dealing with uncertainty, worry for self and others, frustration, anger, sadness… all of it. Thank you for sharing such personal information with your readers. It’s not taken lightly.

  3. Oh, I can’t imagine how many thoughts and fears are running through your mind just now. Here’s another one to add to the mix: I’m thinking of you and wishing you strength and peace of mind.

  4. Biopsies are done. Not that big of a deal, except for time involved for doing both breasts. Minimal discomfort really. Wrapping myself around the machine and lying on my shoulders for a while were the most challenging aspects. The doc was wonderful, as was the technician. Results should be available no later than Thursday.

    Thank you all for warm wishes and prayers.
    Jan

  5. Pingback: Stress & (Not) Eating & Ramblings | Writing To Wellness

Comments are closed.