Tagged!

Thanks to Karen @ Waisting Time and Ann @ Dr. Fatty Finds Fitness, I have been tagged for a round robin of blogging extravaganza! It has been almost 3 weeks since my last real post and over 12 days since Karen tagged me. I have been on a bit of a blogging hiatus. Sorry for the unexplained absence – just chalk it up to, um, misaligned neurons. Promise not to do it again without some notification.

Here are the rules:

  1. Post these rules.
  2. Post 11 random things yourself. As if you haven’t read enough about me…
  3. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post. (Using Karen’s since she was first tagger.
  4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  5. Go to their blog and tell them that you’ve tagged them.
  6. No stuff in the tagging section about “you are tagged if you are reading this.” You legitimately have to tag 11 peeps!
 Eleven random things about me:
  1. I am the oldest of 4 kids by 8 years.
  2. I was the first female among all of my relatives to finish 4 years of college.
  3. I/we just bought a camping van. (Thought our RVing days were over.)
  4. I gained weight over the holidays! First significant gain over the past 2 years. ARGH!
  5. It has been 9 months since my breast cancer diagnosis. I’m just starting to deal with some of the impact of the double mastectomy.
  6. I miss having a career but cannot imagine going back to work for someone else now.
  7. I am searching for a passion – don’t ask me what that means. But some of you might understand.
  8. I am sitting in the middle of a dust storm inside the house while all of all of the tile is being redone. (Darn those flippers who redid the house before we bought it 6 years ago.)
  9. I have concluded that I am a lazy bum. Making physical activity part of my daily routine is difficult, and I don’t have my foob pain to blame any more.
  10. My favorite song is “The Very Though Of You.” Yes, I am a romantic.
  11. My favorite location is a beach – any beach where I can hear the sound of the waves.
Questions from Karen:
  1. What is the most memorable meal you ever ate?  50th birthday dinner at the Four Seasons on the Big Island of Hawaii
  2. What TV show(s) are you embarrassed to admit you watch? True Blood
  3. Would you rather hire a trainer, chef, house cleaner, or personal shopper? Chef. We have house cleaners come in twice a week to do the crud I refuse to do. I love to shop. Trainers – ugh, I can do my own stuff and anyone who pushes me too hard I would just fire.
  4. Share a favorite childhood memory.  Fishing with my Dad.
  5. What destination would you love to visit?  New Zealand
  6. What’s one food you think you don’t like but you’ve never actually tried?  Flaxseed anything
  7. What modern technology that you didn’t grow up with could you now not live without? Personal computer
  8. List the 5 websites you visit most often. New York Times; CNN; Facebook (forgive me, but my family…); Google Reader; Twitter
  9. Who would you like to meet (living, dead, fictional character, blogger, anyone…)? Molly Ivins – a strange choice, but her wit, writing, and slant on politics, especially the Texas government, I miss desperately. Others include a couple of Texas heroines – Ann Richards and Lady Bird Johnson. My favorite celebrity crushes Renee Fleming and Meryl Streep. Who wouldn’t want to meet Jesus and Buddah and Mohammad? The current Dalai Lama.
  10. What’s your favorite spot in your house and why?  Where in your house do you spend the most time? Favorite spot is my huge bath tub with air jets. I spend the most time at the computer.
  11. How long on average does it take you to write a blog post? Days to ruminate about writing, maybe 2 hours to write and and then give it rest before re-reading and edit.

For the final portion I am supposed to tag people and have them answer questions. Almost everyone I read has been tagged, so I will follow a lead from Michele @ Within Reach and post questions that readers can feel free to answer (or not) in the comment section:

  1. What is your favorite cuisine?
  2. What is your favorite hobby?
  3. What would advice would you give someone entering college (assuming they would listen)?
  4. What country other than the one you live in would you consider moving to?
  5. What is your preferred method of travel when vacationing?
  6. What is your best time of day?
  7. E-books or paper? Why?
  8. Do you have a favorite color of clothes or color scheme?
  9. How do you see your life after retirement (or what are you doing if retired)?
  10. What is your biggest fear?
  11. “Pull yourself up by your bootstraps” or “It takes a village”?

New camping van

12 thoughts on “Tagged!

  1. Very interesting! The chef thing surprised me. I’d go for the house cleaner. 🙂

    My preferred method of travel (make that ONLY method) is by car. I hope someday to have the funds for a pretty travel van. Maybe you’ll be ready to upgrade by then and will give me a sweet deal on yours.

    • If we didn’t already have some sort of house keeping going on that would have been my first choice. Having someone else cook would be a dram. Heck, I would be happy to shop and clean up. Just hate to muck about the kitchen.

  2. That passion thing, me too. Did we already talk about that? Darn memory. I’m surprised you haven’t had flaxseed because of the Omega 3 or 6 or whatever number that is in it.

    • I get my omegas from fish oil caps ~ 3gms/day. I just haven’t found a use for flaxseed yet. Maybe on my yogurt?

  3. Forgive my long comment… but here we go.

    Comments on your Eleven Things
    No. 2 — Me too!! And I enjoyed it so much that I just didn’t stop going… two Master’s and a JD later…

    No. 11 — Again, me too! We take a family vacation to Florida every single year.

    Comments on your Answers to Karen’s Questions
    No. 8 — Our lists were similar.

    No. 9 — I wanted to include the real Queen of Hollywood, Meryl Streep but figured my list was already too long. I’ve loved everything she’s ever done.

    And your questions
    No. 6 — Morning without a doubt

    No. 11 — Both. I think we need both. We should discuss this further, but I’m in a bit of a hurry right now. This one has me thinking… definitely both.

    • I truly enjoy reading long comments. I would be interested to hear more of your thoughts about bootstraps vs. village, not that it shouldn’t be both. I’m a village idiot myself who did a lot of bootstrapping.

  4. I enjoyed reading this and learning more about you. I also was tagged by Ann but I don’t usually participate in such things — shame on me right?

    1. Mexican and Indian cuisine
    2. cooking, hiking
    5. Road Trip
    6. Early morning
    7. E books for pleasure reading, paper for cookbooks
    10. My biggest fesar use to be that something would happen to me before I was done raising my children. Well they are both in college now and I realize I will be never be done being a Mom but should anything happen to me now, I am content that I have given them a solid foundation as they move on to make their mark in life.

    • No shame! Thanks for sharing on here, Tami. I read about an app for using your iPad while cooking. Have to find that for you to check out.

  5. What a nice new van! Fun adventures await!

    The country I’d move to is Hawaii. What? It’s like a whole different country compared to Texas! 😉

  6. Many folks in Hawaii think it should revert to being a sovereign nation. I found parts of the Big Island to be very reminiscent of Texas with huge ranches, cowboys (paniolos), and a west Texas kinda feel. With 14 biodiversity zones, it’s one of the reason why I could live there no problem. OK, cost of living, lack of great health care, far from family, otherwise – paradise!

  7. 1.What is your favorite cuisine? Toss up between Chinese and Italian

    2.What is your favorite hobby? Making mosaics, but I spend more time reading.

    3.What would advice would you give someone entering college (assuming they would listen)? Take advantage of everything the campus has to offer – events, productions, clubs, work opportunities. Those things are once in a lifetime chances to expand your world and are much more important than partying.

    4.What country other than the one you live in would you consider moving to? I haven’t traveled the world enough to know.

    5.What is your preferred method of travel when vacationing? My best trips hve been far enough away that flying has been necessary, I have always wanted to drive through the US.

    6.What is your best time of day? Mornings

    7.E-books or paper? Why? Love paper books but find e=books easier to read at my advanced age.

    8.Do you have a favorite color of clothes or color scheme? Red!!!

    9.How do you see your life after retirement (or what are you doing if retired)? Freedom to pursue my hobbies and interests, enough money to travel a bit and have a nice home of our own.

    10.What is your biggest fear? Accidentally killing someone.

    11.“Pull yourself up by your bootstraps” or “It takes a village”? I do believe it takes a villiage as a society and I also believe each individual needs to take responsibility for themselves and make the best of their talents and opportunities.

    • Thanks for answering every question, Susan!

      I love that you love red. I am struggling to get out my black scheme.

      Accidentally killing someone – wow, that was my biggest fear as a physician. Don’t think it ever happened, but a lot of crappy things did that were just as bad, maybe….

Comments are closed.